2016–2017 McKeown Special Project Award Recipients

The recipients of this year’s ceramic McKeown Special Project Award grants are seniors Austin Bradshaw, Maddie Scott, and Emily Souers.

The grant was conceived by KCAI alums Byron and Deanne McKeown, with the goal of assisting students to fund their projects and research. Both Austin and Emily plan to use their funds to support material purchase for their BFA show pieces, while Maddie intends to use hers to finance an installation in the end-of-semester exhibition.

Many thanks to Byron and Deanne McKeown for their generous investment in KCAI ceramics students.


Austin Bradshaw, Mess Kit, 2016


Emily Souers, Float Paper House, 2015


Maddie Scott, Map with Neon Lights, 2016